Rebalance Reconnect Reenergise Revitalize
Call Us: +33 6 65 71 67 82

More On Chakras

More On Chakras


Chakras are subtle energy centres that relate to the hormonal (endocrine) system in the body and the major nerve plexuses.There are seven major chakras in the body.
Each chakra relates to different levels of consciousness, developmental stages of life, emotions, thoughts, colours, sounds, body functions and much more. The chakras are said to develop over the course of our lifetime.
In order to bring more harmony to our entire system, subtle energy healing tries to assist the individual in bringing the chakras into balance when they are blocked or overactive.

Where Are The Chakras Located

The human’s subtle energy body is made up of thousands of pathways known as nadis which conduct prana or energy throughout the body. Amongst the most important are Sushumna, Ida and Pingala which all originate at the base of the spine. The main one, Sushumna, is centrally located and passes up through the spinal column, with Ida starting to the left and Pingala to the right. Ida and Pingala spiral around the Sushumna up the spine, intersecting four times before converging at the nose level. Each junction of these three nadis marks a chakra.
The Chakras are situated in a vertical line ascending from the base of the spine to the head.

1st Muladhara – base or root chakra.

Located at the base of the spine
Colour – red
Function / emotional aspect – security, physical presence, sense of groundedness, survival, material Bija mantra sound syllable: LAM

2nd Swadhistana – sacral chakra

Located 2- 3 inches below the naval
Colour – orange
Function / emotional aspect – personal power, how we relate to the world, will power, sense of identity, self confidence, self-worth Bija mantra sound syllable: RAM

3th Manipura – solar plexus chakra

Located in the solar plexus, just above the naval
Colour – yellow
Function / emotional aspect – personal power, how we relate to the world, will power, sense of identity, self confidence, self-worth Bija mantra sound syllable: RAM

4th Anahata – heart chakra

Located in the centre of the chest
Colour – pink or green
Function / emotional aspect – love, empathy, compassion Bija mantra sound syllable: YAM

5th Vishudda – throat chakra

Located in the middle of the throat
Colour – blue
Function / emotional aspect – seeing, visualizing, intuition, intellect, use of information for happiness and health Bija mantra sound syllable: OM

6th Ajna – third eye chakra

Located between the eyebrows or slightly above
Colour – violet
Function / emotional aspect – communication, hearing, speaking, expression, creativity Bija mantra sound syllable: HAM

7th Sahasrara – crown chakra

Located a few centimetres below the top of the head
Colour – white or violet
Function / emotional aspect – spirituality, inspiration, transcendence Bija mantra sound syllable: None
An under-active or over-active chakra can manifest on many different levels; not only physical but also emotional, mental and spiritual. The purpose of a Reiki session is to bring all these different aspects of our being into balance.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Sign Up for our weekly newsletter to get the latest news, update and amazing offers delivered directly in your inbox.


Founder, Noona Ayres

Revitalize was founded by Noona Ayres, above, and brings Integral Yoga to the Cote d'Azur.